website statistics
To Top

Tiger Woods Penalty Masters 2013 Avoids Disqualification for Rule 26

Tiger Woods Penalty Master 2013 Avoids Disqualification for Rule 26

LOS ANGELES (LALATE) – A Tiger Woods penalty, not a disqualification, was levied at the Masters 2013 today under Rule 26 and Rule 33. Tiger Woods got a penalty for actions on the 15th hole. The Masters ruled that Tigers Woods’s penalty should be an “assessed a two stroke penalty”, not a disqualification, under Rule 26. Officials ruled that a “penalty of disqualification was waived by the Committee under Rule 33″ against Tiger.

What did Tiger Woods do wrong to get the penalty, and from which hole did Tiger Woods get his Masters 2013 penalty today? The confusion erupted this morning prompting an immediate news statement by Augusta National.

Officials told news “Yesterday afternoon, the Rules Committee was made aware of a possible Rules violation that involved a drop by Tiger Woods on the 15th hole.” They added “In preparation for his fifth shot, the player dropped his ball in close proximity to where he had played his third shot in apparent conformance with Rule 26. After being prompted by a television viewer, the Rules Committee reviewed a video of the shot while he was playing the 18th hole. At that moment and based on that evidence, the Committee determined he had complied with the Rules.”

So why did Tiger get a penalty and not a disqualification? “After he signed his scorecard, and in a television interview subsequent to the round, the player stated that he played further from the point than where he had played his third shot. Such action would constitute playing from the wrong place.” Officials also told news “The subsequent information provided by the player’s interview after he had completed play warranted further review and discussion with him this morning. After meeting with the player, it was determined that he had violated Rule 26, and he was assessed a two stroke penalty. The penalty of disqualification was waived by the Committee under Rule 33 as the Committee had previously reviewed the information and made its initial determination prior to the finish of the player’s round.”

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Golf