LOS ANGELES (LALATE) – If you are under 18 years of age, it’s now illegal to use a tanning bed in California. A new California law today changed the rules regarding tanning beds use by teens younger than 18 year old. The American Academy of Pediatrics had been advocating for legislation prohibiting teenagers from using tanning salons. Today they got it.
A new report published by the group found that some tanning bed exposed teens to UVA rays as much as fifteen times stronger than a midday sun. So, moments ago, Gov. Jerry Brown signed SB746 into law.
Pursuant to new legislation passed today, it’s illegal to use a tanning bed if you are under 18 years of age. The legislation is the first of its kind in the nation.
While thirty states have similar legislation, the new law is the strictest in the nation. Previously, California children 14 and under were prohibited, while teens ages 15-17 could use the tanning bed with their parents’ permission.
A recent study found that teen percent of teens nationally used indoor tanning sunlamps annually. Sen. Ted Lieu introduced today’s legislation.