FBstarter.com FB Starter Facebook!

What is a FB starter? A Facebook Phishing attack by FB starter (FBstarter.com) is underway says reports. Fbaction.net’s phishing attack was reported less than 24 hours ago by LALATE.
As to Fbaction.net, Facebook had said:
We are aware of this phishing domain and have already begun to take action. Specifically, we have passed the domain on to Markmonitor who pushes the domain to the browsers for blacklisting. They will also actively try to disable the site at the server/domain level for people who don’t have updated browsers. Our user operations team has blocked the domain from being shared on Facebook and is removing the content retroactively from any messages. They will also be resetting passwords of senders to remove access from an attacker. We’re also reaching out to the ISPs to get information and will attempt to build a civil and/or criminal case against the owners.
Now FBstarter.com is sending messages. A new report moment ago says a similar attack is being sent by fbstarter.com. Tidbits describes the message being sent:
However, a [Facebook] message this morning, from someone I knew in high school but haven’t otherwise spoken to in 25 years, was a bit different than the norm. The message merely said, “Look at this!” and gave a link to “fbstarter.com”.
… I discovered that Facebook is being used to send phishing attacks. Neither the fbstarter.com nor another domain being used, fbaction.net, are dangerous, but both will try to steal your login credentials so your account can be used to launch future attacks. If you use the same login credentials on other sites, I strongly encourage you to change your passwords as well.
Facbeook has not yet issued a statement about fbstarter.com confirms Tidbits:
None of the coverage I saw mentioned the fbstarter.com domain, so it appears that the attackers can easily tweak the attack. Now the entire situation may devolve into a game of whack-a-mole, as the attackers come up with new phishing attempts and Facebook blocks them.
Yesterday, Techcrunch describes the fbaction.net message, similar to today’s fbstarter.com message:
YOURFRIEND sent you a message.
Subject: Hello
“Visit http://www.facebook.com/l/4253f;http://fbaction.net/”
Remember: Do not enter your Facebook password if the above url is not facebook.
For more on the fbaction.net attack yesterday, click here















